Women constitute a large chunk of the members of CBOO. They were not actively involved in the union activities. They had their own problems of dual responsibility – at home and the Bank. CBOO felt that the problem of women in employment deserved special attention. To supplement this, AIBOC gave a direction to all affiliates to create a separate wing for effectively representing the women members. With this in mind, the bye-laws were amended in 1985 to provide for a “Women’s Wing” with a Secretary to be elected in the General Body Meeting, who will be a member of the Executive Committee of CBOO. A similar provision was made in the bye-laws to elect a Zonal Lady Secretary (ZLS) at the Zonal level who will be a member of the Zonal Committee.

Activities under Women’s Wing:

a. A Lady Officers’ Meeting at Mangalore in December, 1985, 1990.
b. Similar meetings at a few other centres.
c. State convention on ‘Women in Banking’ at HO in 1995.
d. Personality Development Programme at Mangalore in October, 1996.
e. A meeting of Zonal Lady Secretaries in Mangalore in June, 2016.
f. Conducting programmes on International Women’s Day.
Following led the women as Lady Secretaries of the Women’s Wing:
1. Smt. Bharati A Nayak 1985- 1989
2. Smt. Poonam Chadda 1989-1991
3. Smt. Prema Raghavan 1991-1993
4. Smt. Shabari Shetty 1993-1998
5. Smt. K S Nadira 1998- 2001
6. Smt. Veena Kulgod 2001-2010
7. Smt. Kalpana Kavlekar 2010-2013
8. Smt. Salma A M Sheikh 2013-2016
9. Smt. Sobha L Nair 2016-2019
10. Smt. Shikha Srivatsava 2019-2022
Organizing women has been helpful in a couple of achievements for the benefits of women/CBOO:
a. Establishing a rest room for women at Head Office.
b. Appointment of a welfare officer for women employees.
c. Introduction of a Scheme for pre-natal medical check- up for pregnant employees of the Bank.
d. Introduction of certain clauses in the transfer policy in January, 1997 exclusively for lady officers.
e. More lady officers started involving in CBOO’s activities; a few of them mantled leadership at Zonal unit level as Area Secretaries, Deputy Zonal Secretaries and even Zonal Secretaries.